The Texas Aviation Hall of Fame was established in 1997 to honor famous aviators who are Texans and famous Texans who are aviators. There are currently 67 individual members and five groups in the Hall of Fame. The 2017 inductees were chosen by the LSFM Board from over 60 nominees following a review by a panel of 11 distinguished aviation historians and experts from across the country. This year’s honorees are: President George W. Bush, Major General Benjamin D. Foulois, Albert W. “Al” Mooney and the 111th Aero Squadron.

This prestigious group will be officially inducted into the Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 20th at the Lone Star Flight Museum’s 2017 “Taking Flight” gala to be held in the Museum’s new building at Houston’s Ellington Airport.

Texas Aviation Hall of Fame

F-6C Mustang Fighter
Second Oldest Flying Unit of the United States Air Force
Doolittle Raiders
Doolittle's Tokyo Raiders
Women Airforce Service Pilots
Bill Anders
Apollo Astronaut, CEO General Dynamics
Gene Autry
Film Star, Musician and World War II Pilot
Lloyd Bentsen
U.S. Senator, World War II Bomber Pilot
Gordon Bethune
CEO of Continental Airlines
Tony Bingelis
Experimental Aircraft Builder
Ronald G. Bliss
Attorney, Vietnam War Pilot and POW
George Bush
President of the United States
President of the United States